Children of Blood and Bone (Legacy of Orïsha #1) by Tomi Adeyemi – My Review

34728667

Blurb

Tomi Adeyemi conjures a stunning world of dark magic and danger in her West African-inspired fantasy debut, perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Sabaa Tahir.
Zélie Adebola remembers when the soil of Orïsha hummed with magic. Burners ignited flames, Tiders beckoned waves, and Zelie’s Reaper mother summoned forth souls.
But everything changed the night magic disappeared. Under the orders of a ruthless king, maji were targeted and killed, leaving Zélie without a mother and her people without hope.
Now, Zélie has one chance to bring back magic and strike against the monarchy. With the help of a rogue princess, Zélie must outwit and outrun the crown prince, who is hell-bent on eradicating magic for good.
Danger lurks in Orïsha, where snow leoponaires prowl and vengeful spirits wait in the waters. Yet the greatest danger may be Zélie herself as she struggles to control her powers—and her growing feelings for the enemy.

Title: Children of Blood and Bone (Legacy of Orïsha #1)

Author: Tomi Adeyemi

Genres:

  • Young Adult
  • Fantasy

Release Date: March 6th, 2018


My Review

***5+++ Stars!!!***

THIS BOOK

THIS BOOK.

THIS! BOOOOK!!! 

Absolutely magnificent. This book was pure magic 

Tomi Adeyemi has already achieved greatness and she’s on her way to so much more!! She has been compared to extremely accomplished authors and this book was picked up to be adapted into film BEFORE IT WAS RELEASED!!! Oh, and did I mention she also signed a 7-figure book deal all at the age of 23?

Children of Blood and Bone tells the story of a young girl named Zélie who goes on a quest to bring magic back to Orïsha with the help of her brother, Tzain, and the princess of Orïsha, Amari. The king of Orïsha has a strong hatred for maji and once ordered everyone who possessed magic to be killed, including Zélie’s mother. Add in the fact that the king sends his son and future king, Inan to go after the three and the task of bringing magic back seems almost impossible.

Every paragraph was rich, filled with soul, and devastatingly beautiful. I had to stop reading so many times just to express my love for Ms. Adeyemi’s writing!!! YA Fantasy needs more exciting books like this! I can’t wait to read more from this author. When I was a teenager, Harry Potter was the biggest and most popular book and movie series. I believe the Legacy of Orïsha series will be just as popular among today’s teens. This series is going to be the next cultural phenomenon and I can’t wait to see Tomi Adeyemi achieve more and more much deserved success.

Important topics were also brought up in this novel such as colorism and police brutality among the Black community.

“You’re people, your guards- they’re nothing more than killers, rapists, and thieves. The only difference between them and criminals is the uniforms they wear” 

My heart ached for Zélie and her people. Knowing that how the maji were treated is all too real for Black people made it that much more painful. The maji were hated, oppressed, sometimes enslaved, and even killed because of the prejudice against them. This book is so important and I can’t imagine what Adeyemi felt as she wrote it.

The characters and their development was outstanding. One of my favorite aspects of this novel was the friendship between Zélie and Amari.

“I rest my forehead against hers, and we sit in a comfortable silence, translating our love though touch. The Princess and the Warrior, I decide in my head. When they tell the story of tomorrow, that is what they shall call it.” 

Two young girls, who the world believes should hate each other, threw prejudice aside and a heartwarming friendship blossomed. Seeing these two girls share something so pure amidst so much hatred and danger filled me with hope and love.

“I want you to be happy, Zél. More than you realize.” 

This is a book that everyone needs to read regardless of whether or not you enjoy this genre, or even enjoy reading at all. I seriously cannot get over how much I loved this book and these characters!!

By the end of this novel, I had tears in my eyes and I kept praying, just one more chapter! Ms. Adeyemi has created a masterpiece and I will be (very) impatiently waiting for book two in the series, Children of Virtue and Vengeance!


*ADD Children of Blood and Bone (Legacy of Orïsha #1) on Goodreads

 

*PURCHASE Children of Blood and Bone (Legacy of Orïsha #1) on


About The Author

Tomi Adeyemi

Tomi Adeyemi is a Nigerian-American writer and creative writing coach based in San Diego, California. Her debut novel, CHILDREN OF BLOOD AND BONE, comes out March 6th, 2018 and the movie is currently in development at Fox with the producers of Twilight and The Maze Runner attached. After graduating Harvard University with an honors degree in English literature, she received a fellowship that allowed her to study West African mythology and culture in Salvador, Brazil. When she’s not working on her novels or watching Scandal, she can be found blogging and teaching creative writing to her 3,500 subscribers at tomiadeyemi.com. Her website has been named one of the 101 best websites for writers by Writer’s Digest.

Stalk Her!


cropped-blog-logo1.jpg

Advertisements